South Carolina residents in Chesterfield County join those in Dillon, Horry, Marion and Marlboro counties as eligible to apply for aid through FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program, the governor’s office announced on Tuesday.

With the designation for Individual Assistance, the IRS extended deadlines that apply to filing returns, paying taxes, and performing certain other time-sensitive acts for certain taxpayers affected by Hurricane Florence in Dillon, Horry, Marion and Marlboro, and it is expected to soon be granted for Chesterfield County as well.

The extension applies to deadlines – either an original or extended due date – that occurred on or after Sept. 7, 2018 and before Jan. 31, 2019.

For the latest IRS news on its actions for victims of Hurricane Florence, go to its news release page here.

Personal casualty losses attributable to certain 2018 federally declared disasters, including Hurricane Florence, may be claimed as a qualified disaster loss.

Survivors who sustained losses in designated counties from Hurricane Florence can apply for Federal assistance by registering at or by calling 800.621.3362.

Assistance can include money for temporary rental assistance and essential home repairs for primary homes, low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help survivors recover from the effects of the disaster.

Dillon, Horry, Marion and Marlboro counties were designated for Individual Assistance on Sept. 21

Residents of the five counties are also eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. If your job has been affected by Hurricane Florence, go to and click the MyBenefits Login in the top right corner to apply through the unemployment insurance benefits system. For help, call 1-866-831-1724.

The deadline for applying for residents in Chesterfield County is Oct. 25, 2018 – 30 calendar days from the date that DEW announced the availability of DUA in the county. The deadline for applying in Dillon, Horry, Marion and Marlboro counties is Oct. 24.

The DUA program makes funds available to assist people who became unemployed as a direct result of Hurricane Florence. It also is available to small business owners and the self-employed, including 1099 contract workers who lost personal income due to the disaster.

Government agencies and certain eligible nonprofit organizations in Chesterfield, Darlington, Florence and Sumter counties are now eligible to apply for up to 75% reimbursement for emergency costs through FEMA’s Public Assistance program. SCEMD, county emergency managers, and FEMA teams will continue to assess damage in other storm-impacted counties in order to qualify for additional Federal assistance to help families and communities recover from the storm.

Berkeley, Charleston, Dillon, Dorchester, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Marlboro, Orangeburg and Williamsburg counties were also designated for FEMA’s Public Assistance Program to reimburse the state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations for emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance.

For more information, check SCACPA’s Disaster Readiness webpage at