On Oct. 16, in response to Governor Henry McMaster’s request, President Donald Trump declared a major disaster exists in the state of South Carolina as a result of Hurricane Irma. Federal aid has been ordered to supplement state and local recovery efforts in 16 counties affected by Hurricane Irma.

There is still no word on if the state will receive Individual Assistance. If you would like to file for an extension you can contact the IRS Disaster line at 1-866-562-5227.

On September 28, Governor McMaster formally requested a disaster declaration from the White House for Allendale, Anderson, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Edgefield, Georgetown, Hampton, Jasper, McCormick, Oconee and Pickens counties. His request followed an assessment of damages by representatives of the South Carolina Emergency Management Division, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, affected electric co-operatives and local governments. Additional counties could be added at a later date.

Under the Public Assistance Program, state and affected local governments are eligible to apply for federal funding to pay 75 percent of the approved costs under certain categories such as debris removal and road repair related to the storm. FEMA previously approved reimbursement to State and local governments for costs associated with emergency protective measures taken during Hurricane Irma.

The FEMA Public Assistance program categories are as follows:

  • Category A: Debris Removal
  • Category B: Emergency Protective Measures
  • Category C: Roads and Bridges
  • Category D: Water Control Facilities
  • Category E: Buildings and Equipment
  • Category F: Utilities
  • Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities and Other Items

The division of the remaining 25 percent will be determined later. More information about this program can be found here.

The declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce - or mitigate - future disaster risks. Funds under this program will be available to state agencies, local governments, and certain non-profit organizations only. A wide variety of potential projects are eligible.

TrackBack URL for this post: